Dominion» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Need Advice on Analysing Sets + Example Set rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Owen Compton
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I've only recently got into Dominion and I'm mostly playing 3-player ganes with my family with the intention of getting on Isotropic once I've got some experience with it.

I'm struggling to know where to start with analysing sets and determining a game strategy, (I've jumped in at the deep end with all the expansions). Obviously this kind of thing comes with experience and I'm sure there are other threads on this but below I'm linking to an example set and would like to see what experienced players would be thinking if they were to see it.

http://www.dominiondeck.com/games/example-set-analysis

Thanks very much for everyone's help btw!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dion Baxter
United Kingdom
Canterbury
Kent
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm no expert but I'd personally grab as many Caravans as possible at the start.

Edit: I'll play this game against my boys and against the PC and see what happens. Thanks for the interesting setup thumbsup

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Compulsive Completist
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I know this isn't what you're looking for but...

I would recommend that you and your group experience Dominion together as a group and figure out your own strategies. There is something about that feeling when your deck engine starts clicking when all you had to go on was a hunch.

I know myself and my group are behind the curve in quality strategies (considering the number of plays) because I have avoided on-line help. I have also avoided Isotropic because I don't want to have so much experience that everyone else is just playing catch-up.

Take your time with the strategy help. you can't ever put that toothpaste back in the tube.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio