Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Red Purge vs Vietnam Revolts in SE Asia rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I headline Red Purge and my opponent (as USSR) headlines Vietnam Revolts, then plays CIA Created in his first AR.

Does he get 1 op or can he get 2 if he uses the points in SE Asia. Red Purge reduces all cards by 1 to a minimum of 1 and Vietnam increases their value by 1 so if you apply Purge first then Vietnam it would be two, if you apply Vietnam first then Purge it will be 1?

Any opinions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
"L'état, c'est moi."
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Roger's Reviews: check out my reviews page, right here on BGG!
badge
Caution: May contain wargame like substance
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He would get 2.

The way to think of it is that he's playing a card for ops (CIA in this case, but it could have been NATO), which is reduced by 1 due to Purge. Purge cannot reduce a card below 1.

He chooses to play in SE Asia, and use all the ops there. Because he does so, he earns 1 bonus op.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Smith
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
It is not clear cut in my opinion. You could argue:

1. Played outside Asia it is a 1 Op, can't be reduced, so it remains a 1

2. Played in Asia it is now a 2 Op therefore it is reduced to 1

So Red Purge removes the Asia bonus.

However I don't disagree with Leroy's interpretation either so I'd toss a coin or just agree with my opponents opinion on it if only to keep the game going.

I suspect there is a ruling already on this somewhere.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Hewson
United Kingdom
Surbiton
Surrey
flag msg tools
I bought this...
badge
...as I had no idea what to spend my GG on!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure he'd get one OP as the ruling was that you add up all the modifiers then apply them so the overall modifier becomes zero. I believe the ruling was to avoid the 'memory' affect of applying in event order. The same thing is true of Containment and Red Scare hitting each other, you don't have to remember which one came first you just have an overall modifier of zero.(I preferred the idea of an order effect as it makes Containment/Brezhnev just that little bit stronger on headline vs Red Scare, but alas it wasn't to be!).

EDIT: It's in the rules, number 7.4.

7.4 Some event cards modify the Operations value of cards that
follow. These modifiers should be applied in aggregate, and can
modify ‘The China Card’.

EXAMPLE: The US player plays the Red Scare/Purge event
during the Headline Phase. Ordinarily, all USSR cards would
subtract one from their Operations value. However, for his
Headline card, the USSR played Vietnam Revolts. This event
gives the Soviet player +1 to all operations played in SE Asia.
For his first play, the USSR chooses ‘The China Card’. He plays
all points in SE Asia for 5 operations points. This is modified by
the Vietnam Revolts card, giving the USSR player 6 operation
points. However, the US Red Scare/Purge card brings the total
down to 5 operations points.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Russ is correct.
The designers have also clarified this in the past - all modifiers are calculated, then applied in aggregate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.