Innovation» Forums » Reviews

Subject: An oldie newbie review of Innovation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Hills
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Although I am a newbie on the Geek, I have been playing multi-player strategy games since the 1980s, starting with Titan and later gaining a Grandmaster title in Duplicate Bridge.

I have owned the IELLO version of Innovation for only two months, yet during that time I have played dozens of games, more-or-less evenly split between the 2-player, 3-player and 4-player scenarios.

Yes, scenarios is the right word. 2-player Titan uses an entirely different strategy to 4-player or 5-player Titan (in 2-player Titan one must kamikaze small stacks so as to recycle their markers). Likewise 4-player Innovation is quick, fun but random. 3-player Innovation allows the two trailing players to gang up on the early leader. While 2-player Innovation maximises skill (which is why I have lost three out of three 2-player games to my 13-year-old nephew).

A brief note on the IELLO gorgeous graphics for its cards. De gustibus non est disputandum. Some may prefer the uncluttered original Innovation cards "if you want art, go to a museum". And the compact IELLO box (also covered with gorgeous graphics) is over-compact for those grognards who routinely sleeve their cards.

Some other reviewers have dismissed Innovation as a longer version of Fluxx. I acquired Monty Python Fluxx because of its humorous theme (I have been a Python fan since watching the original television series), but I found the actual game-play of Monty Python Fluxx long and dreary. Contrariwise, not only is Innovation satisfyingly quick, but even when you are losing you have interesting decisions to make.

Other games where it is fun to lose are Dominion: Prosperity and Power Grid.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Schoenheiter
Germany
Heusenstamm
Hessen
flag msg tools
publisher
Editor
badge
mbmbmbmbmb