Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Band of Brothers: Screaming Eagles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Op Fire Etiquette rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Does a player have to declare that his unit has FINISHED moving (so that his opponent can fire at him in that hex)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Practically speaking, once a person starts to reach for another unit, you can say you are firing at the one that just moved so I guess the answer to your question is yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Practically speaking, I can use Assault Fire BEFORE I reach for another unit.devil
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's true...

Every group has their own conventions. When I play, if not with a newbie, if I have paused and waited for a response, once I get to the point where I say that I am going to assault fire, the opportunity to op fire has passed.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Smith
United States
Bel Air
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We just count up the movement points spent with a slight pause from hex to hex. This let's both player agree on the use of movement points, and gives the nonphasing player a chance to say "Op Fire". The rules suggest simply pausing between moves.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustavo
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do I need to declare all the units that will OP fire at once, or can I OP fire with one, and then declare that another unit will OP fire as well? My interpretation is that you need to declare all OP firing units at once.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can declare them one at a time while the other player is moving.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustavo
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim Krohn wrote:
No, you can declare them one at a time while the other player is moving.


Even if all the units are firing at the same hex? If the opponent move his unit one hex, do I need to declare all the units that will be firing on that hex, or can I just declare one, and then depending on the result of the roll I declare another?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, even if they are firing at the same hex.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustavo
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim Krohn wrote:
Yes, even if they are firing at the same hex.


OK then, thanks!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.