Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Shadows over Camelot: Merlin's Company» Forums » General

Subject: Sir Geraint just a weaker Sir Lamorak? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Grant Lester
United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mb
My regular group played Merlin's Company for the first time last night, and the guy playing Sir Geraint seemed rather let down that his special power just seemed to be a weaker version of Sir Lamorak's special power. I wonder if we were playing the two knights correctly?

Sir Geraint's card reads, "During the Progression of Evil, you may discard 2 White cards in lieu of doing an evil action."

Sir Lamorak's card reads, "Any time you are about to lose 1 Life point, you may choose to discard 2 White cards instead."

We read this to mean that in addition to failed quests, performing second heoric actions, etc., Sir Lamorak could also discard 2 White cards instead of losing a Life point as his evil action since the game says "Lose 1 Life point" under the Progression of Evil options.

So what say you all, did we play it correctly and thus Sir Geraint has merely a subset of Sir Lamorak's special power?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Mc Cabe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
There are those who look at things the way they are and ask why . . . I dream of things that never were and ask why not
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
glester03 wrote:
My regular group played Merlin's Company for the first time last night, and the guy playing Sir Geraint seemed rather let down that his special power just seemed to be a weaker version of Sir Lamorak's special power. I wonder if we were playing the two knights correctly?

Sir Geraint's card reads, "During the Progression of Evil, you may discard 2 White cards in lieu of doing an evil action."

Sir Lamorak's card reads, "Any time you are about to lose 1 Life point, you may choose to discard 2 White cards instead."

We read this to mean that in addition to failed quests, performing second heoric actions, etc., Sir Lamorak could also discard 2 White cards instead of losing a Life point as his evil action since the game says "Lose 1 Life point" under the Progression of Evil options.

So what say you all, did we play it correctly and thus Sir Geraint has merely a subset of Sir Lamorak's special power?


They overlap somewhat, but are executed differently. Sir Geraint can discard two white cards to prevent the placing of a siege engine or drawing a Progression-of-Evil card, which can be quite nice for the knights as a whole. It doesn't help him if he's on a losing quest, which is what Sir Lamorek's spin on this special ability does. Sir Lamorek's special ability can help during the actual drawing of a Progression of Evil card, in that there is one that requires all knights to lose two life points. He cannot prevent the actual drawing of the Progression-of-Evil card, merely prevent a single life loss as a result of its text.

They're two different things with the same reward, preventing life-point loss. My opinion is that one is not really a subset of the other.

Brian



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant Lester
United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mb
But drawing a Progression-of-Evil card is only one of your 3 progression of evil options. Why not pick the third listed option "Lose 1 Life point" but then prevent the loss by discarding 2 white cards?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Pietrangelo
United States
Sewell
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Yea grant, I had noticed the same thing... Y can't u just lose a life point and then discard 2 cards to avoid the damage as ur evil action?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Eaton-Salners
United States
Lake Forest
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the FAQ, their powers have different effects. Lamorak cannot use his ability when he freely chooses to lose a life point (e.g., during the Progression of Evil).

Translation of Bruno's FAQ
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugues Richard
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
What matters in life is not the triumph nor the struggle but the triumph by tie breaker.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Lamorak cannot use his ability when he freely chooses to lose a life point (e.g., during the Progression of Evil).


That is the correct way to play him so in fact, Sir Lomarak is totally useless except on suicide missions (which is the same) and 1-2 Morrigans. Geraint though is the top overpowered knight in this exp. box.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Hook
United States
Lansing
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
"Many that live deserve death. And some that die deserve life. Can you give it to them? Then do not be too eager to deal out death in judgement. For even the very wise cannot see all ends."
badge
"I wish it need not have happened in my time," said Frodo. "So do I," said Gandalf, "and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
apatheticexecutioner wrote:
...there is one (referring to a Progression of Evil card) that requires all knights to lose two life points.

I cannot find such a card. Are you referring to the 5th Morgan card (which asks for a -2 LP volunteer or others with at least a card lose one) which is frequently read/played wrong? If so question is rhetorical.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.