Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

1st & Goal» Forums » General

Subject: Punt clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dennis Bolin
United States
CA
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up last night during our first night of League play.

on a punt the receiver rolls the 'p' die along with the green die. (Which the kicking team may also do if they replace one of their other dice)

Which chart does the receiving team use on their 'p' die
(they rules were read as the kicking team uses the special chart when replacing a die for the 'p' die)
The rules do not clarify which chart to use
some argued the left chart on the board, dome the right. it is not clearly written in the rule book on pg.8 and one can imply either way.

thank you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank DiLorenzo
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
daloonieshaman wrote:
This came up last night during our first night of League play.

on a punt the receiver rolls the 'p' die along with the green die. (Which the kicking team may also do if they replace one of their other dice)

Which chart does the receiving team use on their 'p' die
(they rules were read as the kicking team uses the special chart when replacing a die for the 'p' die)
The rules do not clarify which chart to use
some argued the left chart on the board, dome the right. it is not clearly written in the rule book on pg.8 and one can imply either way.

thank you


To clarify:

The receiving team rolling the green die and Play die on a return would use the results shown on the left column on the board, it's just a normal use of the Play die. However, the Kicking team substituting the play die in for one of the dice on a normal punt would use the right column. In this case, the Play die has specialized effects on the punt results hence the use of the right hand column.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike G
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
On a punt, if the receiving team rolls an X on the play die does that simply negate any run back? The rules didn't seem clear on that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank DiLorenzo
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
falluper wrote:
On a punt, if the receiving team rolls an X on the play die does that simply negate any run back? The rules didn't seem clear on that.


Correct, no run back when the X appears on the Punt return.

The rules of the Play die take effect on any play when it is rolled unless specifically excepted in the rules.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.