Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Tournay» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bridge I / II question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a bit flabberghasted because of this card and the similar one's in the red and yellow decks.

The reason why is this:
The player aid, in English and German, states that level II bridge can be used on occupied buildings of other players.

What confused me was:
Not all, but a lot of other buildings (like the market) are approved in the level II deck (6 coins instead of 5). However, according to the not very clear wording of both player aids, it is not "player can use the effect of opponent card, whether occupied or not", but instead "player can use effect of OCCUPIED opponent card".

My interpretation intuitively was what has also been posted in Eeeeville's card effect list, namely that with the level II bridge you can both use occupied and unoccupied cards of your opponent.
However, my other players were of different opinion, based on player aid wording.

Could someone help me here, please? Could I get an official ruling for this?

[Edit]
Of course, "other players card" means "building"...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Johnson
Canada
St.John's
Newfoundland
flag msg tools
designer
“Brothers, oh brothers, my days here are done, the Dornishman’s taken my life, But what does it matter, for all men must die, and I’ve tasted the Dornishman’s wife!”
badge
"Oak and iron guard me well, or else I'm dead and doomed to hell." - Andal proverb.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Apologies if I misinterpreted the designers intention. I will correct it if it's incorrect, but for now I'll just wait on the official ruling.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alain Orban
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Hello,
The bridge level I allows you to activate only "empty" building (no meeple, no damage) of the other players.
The bridge level II allows you to activate both empty and non empty (with meeple) buildings. You can't use a building with a damage on it.
I hope it helps.
have a nice game.
Alain,
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect, thank you!
And a tip of the hat to Mr. Eeeville, who got it right the first time around...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John blog
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the building that which being copied considered "used" or occupied?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alain Orban
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
thisaliensean wrote:
Is the building that which being copied considered "used" or occupied?

I hope that i understand correctly your question.

you put nothing on the building copied so it stays unoccupied.

Have fun,
alain,
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.