Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Trek: Fleet Captains» Forums » General

Subject: Federation Cloak Tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Barker
United States
Cincinnati
OH
flag msg tools
The rulebook says there are 2 Federation cloak tokens. I have 2 but both say real on the bottom. Shouldn't at least one of them be an echo? Did anyone else have this problem or am I missing some components?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have one "Real" and one "Echo".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iNano78 wrote:
I have one "Real" and one "Echo".

Same here. Looks like the OP needs to request an Echo token from Wizkids.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Barker
United States
Cincinnati
OH
flag msg tools
mvettemagred wrote:
iNano78 wrote:
I have one "Real" and one "Echo".

Same here. Looks like the OP needs to request an Echo token from Wizkids.


I put in a request yesterday for one. What does everyone do when they create more than one echo with a Federation ship?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ddevil wrote:
mvettemagred wrote:
iNano78 wrote:
I have one "Real" and one "Echo".

Same here. Looks like the OP needs to request an Echo token from Wizkids.


I put in a request yesterday for one. What does everyone do when they create more than one echo with a Federation ship?


It hasn't come up. In my experience, echoes are rarely worth making (usually only if you have synergistic Klingon cards in hand). I've tried a cloaking/echo strategy a couple of times, and even as the Klingons, it is rarely effective (e.g. it wastes a lot of turns; usually you'd be better off charging in and attacking - otherwise, you're giving your opponent a lot of free time to rack up VPs). We've found that cloaking is almost exclusively effective for hit-and-run tactics (e.g. move in while cloaked, uncloak, fire; then cloak, move away while cloaked)... although ymmv.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cloaking is an expensive use of an action. I think the only time I cloak is when surrounded or when playing that ship that can cloak on movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Ourso
United States
Roseville
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ddevil wrote:
mvettemagred wrote:
iNano78 wrote:
I have one "Real" and one "Echo".

Same here. Looks like the OP needs to request an Echo token from Wizkids.


I put in a request yesterday for one. What does everyone do when they create more than one echo with a Federation ship?


You can only have as many echos as you have cloaked ships. Since the Defiant is the only Fed ship with a cloaking device, you only need one echo.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AngryTree wrote:
ddevil wrote:
mvettemagred wrote:
iNano78 wrote:
I have one "Real" and one "Echo".

Same here. Looks like the OP needs to request an Echo token from Wizkids.


I put in a request yesterday for one. What does everyone do when they create more than one echo with a Federation ship?


You can only have as many echos as you have cloaked ships. Since the Defiant is the only Fed ship with a cloaking device, you only need one echo.


Oh, and this ^^.
(I forgot about that) thumbsup
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.