Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Crew rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Clive Lovett
Canada
Kamloops
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Questions about crew:

If a player chooses the Sloop he/she puts the cube on the 2 column of the crew row. Does this mean that the player has 2 crew on board at the start of the game?

If yes, what happens if a player draws the ship modification hammock? Does the ship now allow 3 crew?
When recruiting "your crew can never exceed the 'crew' value of your ship".

If the hammock allows an extra crew member above the amount on the card then the only way of getting five crew is with a bigger ship?

Sorry if this seems obvious.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C M
Germany
flag msg tools
Move along, move along...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, choosing the sloop the player has 2 crew to start with (fully staffed). If you buy the hammock modification though, you then need to recruit the additional crew in a harbor, through either a successful leadership roll or by paying 2 gold for each additional crew.

And yes, hammocks will only add 1 crew and you can have only 1 hammock modification (or any other type of modification) on your ship. So to get 5 crew, you need to buy / board a bigger ship.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Lovett
Canada
Kamloops
British Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tako wrote:
Yes, choosing the sloop the player has 2 crew to start with (fully staffed). If you buy the hammock modification though, you then need to recruit the additional crew in a harbor, through either a successful leadership roll or by paying 2 gold for each additional crew.

And yes, hammocks will only add 1 crew and you can have only 1 hammock modification (or any other type of modification) on your ship. So to get 5 crew, you need to buy / board a bigger ship.


Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you answered your own questions:

- Yes, Sloops start with 2 crew.
- Yes, Hammocks allow for 3 crew for a Sloop (but do not automatically increase crew by one, you still have to go recruit).
- Yes, a larger ship allows for more crew (Sloop is the smallest ship, hence the smallest crew). Also, note that when you do buy a bigger ship, your crew does not automatically go up to the max of the new ship. Your old crew moves to the new ship and you have to go recruit the new members. For example, you have a crew rating of 2 on your ship now. You buy a Galleon, the new ship only has a crew of 2 and you have to go recruit to get that up to 4.

-shnar
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
shnar wrote:
I think you answered your own questions:

- Yes, a larger ship allows for more crew (Sloop is the smallest ship, hence the smallest crew).

-shnar


Actually the Flute have only one crew....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.