Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Texas Glory: 1835-36» Forums » Rules

Subject: Redeploy to combat question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Philip Ulbrich
United States
New Braunfels
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As the rules say, "redeployment is very generous" and allows victorious blocks to join another battle. Do these redeployed blocks participate in the battle from the first, or do they come in as reserves? Seems like they get to be in two places at once, one week turn notwithstanding.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thothmaatre wrote:
As the rules say, "redeployment is very generous" and allows victorious blocks to join another battle. Do these redeployed blocks participate in the battle from the first, or do they come in as reserves? Seems like they get to be in two places at once, one week turn notwithstanding.


In tournaments, the designer enforces a rule that regrouped blocks join the battle as second round reserves.

This ruling can be found in the Texas Glory FAQ:

http://boardgamegeek.com/wiki/page/Texas_Glory_FAQ#
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Sosa
United States
Newark
Delaware
flag msg tools
badge
I will break him.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Otherwise the Mexicans will wreck the Texans with their elite cavalry blocks...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Willner
msg tools
mb
This question has come up before and is a good one - unfortunately, the current edition of the rules doesn't clearly answer it. However, in tournaments of the game that I've run, as one of the co-designers, my interpretation has been that the blocks that redeploy into another pending battle come in on round 2 of that battle, like defender reserves, rather than on round 1. This seems more realistic, bearing in mind that these hexes are close to 30 miles across - after winning one battle, the redeploying forces would likely have to march for a day or two to reach the other one. As you say, they shouldn't be in two places at once, though with week-long turns it is possible to get from one battle to another fought a day or two apart during the same week.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.