Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Hannibal: Rome vs. Carthage» Forums » Rules

Subject: consul and city limit rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paper Heron
Russia
flag msg tools
Hi.
Carthage attacks a walled city (not Rome) where one Roman consul with 5 CUs is. Consul can't divide his army on purpose. Can he leave 3CUs outside the city and hide inside with 2CUs? and can he stay outside with 3CUs?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Skellett
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
A wolf and a penguin could never live together, nor could a camel and a hippopotamus. That would be absurd.
badge
And the older you get, the fewer things you really love. And by the time you get to my age, maybe it's only one or two things. With me, I think it's one.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not an expert but I would say no since he can't take any voluntary action that would leave a Consul with less than 5 CU (Rule 18.1) & cities should be considered a "space with a space" (Rule 10.7).

With 7 CU then he could declare 2 inside the city when attacked but I don't think you can split the 5.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Skellett
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
A wolf and a penguin could never live together, nor could a camel and a hippopotamus. That would be absurd.
badge
And the older you get, the fewer things you really love. And by the time you get to my age, maybe it's only one or two things. With me, I think it's one.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had a quick look through the forum & found this thread which deals with the nearly identical situation of trying to split a 5CU Consular army when the city limit is 5 instead of 2.

Re: General Army and Walled City's

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paper Heron
Russia
flag msg tools
And one more question. Is it possible to place consul inside the walled city with 2CUs limit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Skellett
Australia
Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
A wolf and a penguin could never live together, nor could a camel and a hippopotamus. That would be absurd.
badge
And the older you get, the fewer things you really love. And by the time you get to my age, maybe it's only one or two things. With me, I think it's one.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
elsenix wrote:
And one more question. Is it possible to place consul inside the walled city with 2CUs limit?


No (see 6.5, 18.1). You could retreat there though - that's probably the most common way to end up with 2CU & a consul inside a walled city.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.