Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Background Dweller rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nils "Atlatl" Devine
United States
Sherman Oaks
California
flag msg tools
Hunt or Gather
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When may 3s be re-rolled with the Background Dweller? Immediately upon rolling a 3, or during the normal re-roll phase?

Example turn with immediate re-roll:
initial roll: 112223
re-roll just the 3: 111222
1st reroll: 2222 claw heart
2nd reroll: 22223 energy
re-roll the 3: 12222 energy

Example turn without immediate re-rolls:
initial roll: 112223
1st reroll: 1222 claw heart
2nd reroll: 2223 claw energy
re-roll the 3: 1222 claw energy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
♫ Eric Herman ♫
United States
West Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
I like elephants. I like how they swing through trees.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe that any time a 3 is rolled, you may re-roll it without that roll counting toward your total number of rolls.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike P
United States
Castleton
New York
flag msg tools
Check out my blog, Board Game Radar!!!
badge
Stop! That tickles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Grudunza wrote:
I believe that any time a 3 is rolled, you may re-roll it without that roll counting toward your total number of rolls.


I just came here with the same question. We played it the same way you say.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Burris
Canada
flag msg tools
I believe you can use it between normal re-rolls or it wouldn't say "always."

Here's my question. I have psychic probe and make the person with background dweller re-roll something. He says that if he re-rolls a heart, I have to discard psychic probe. I say that doesn't happen, since that is a separate re-roll and psychic probe checks whether its own re-roll is a heart the second that die lands on the table, after which he can use background dweller.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan S.
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, Background Dweller gives you the option to immediately and always reroll any die that shows a result of 3. This happens immediately upon rolling that die, doesn't count toward your normal reroll limit and can occur between standard rerolls on your turn.

That's how I understand and play it, anyway.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Glenn Broadway
United Kingdom
Eastleigh
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
What's not clear though is if you can roll other threes - such as when you are rolling a die as a defence against an attack (if you have a special power that grants you that power).

We played it like this and it became and extremely powerful card (with a relatively low cost).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.