Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about Ship Limit and Trade rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Toderas
Germany
Düsseldorf
Deutschland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi guys.

Q: What is the maximum number of ships one colony may have. Four right?
Q: What is the maximum number one can attack with. Four right?

Thank you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Marvosh
United States
Boise
ID
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arvias wrote:
Hi guys.

Q: What is the maximum number of ships one colony may have. Four right?
Q: What is the maximum number one can attack with. Four right?

Thank you.


A: Infinity.
A: You can put a maximum of 4 in the hyperspace gate. Unless something else modifies that number, of course.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken H.
United States
Amherst
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arvias wrote:
Q: What is the maximum number of ships one colony may have. Four right?


You can have more than 4 ships on a colony. Imagine if you recover all your ships from the warp due to Mobius Tubes, but you only have one colony -- it would get all 20 ships on it.

Quote:
Q: What is the maximum number one can attack with. Four right?


Yes, you have a limit of 4 ships on the hyperspace gate.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Homer Simpson
Israel
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Arvias wrote:
Q: What is the maximum number of ships one colony may have. Four right?
No. There are situations in the game (Mobius Tubes, for example) that you can bring your ships from the warp to a colony you already have four ships on it.
Arvias wrote:
Q: What is the maximum number one can attack with. Four right?
Yes, that is correct, unless there's a specific card that say otherwise
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Big Head Zach
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rubric wrote:
Arvias wrote:
Q: What is the maximum number of ships one colony may have. Four right?


You can have more than 4 ships on a colony. Imagine if you recover all your ships from the warp due to Mobius Tubes, but you only have one colony -- it would get all 20 ships on it.


Unless you actually had all 20 ships in the warp. In that case a Mobius Tubes would bring them all out, they have no colony to go to, and would go back into the warp.

Your only hope is when it's your turn as offense - a normal Regroup would give you 1 ship out of the warp, straight onto the hyperspace cone. A Mobius Tubes played by you would put up to 4 ships on the cone (and the rest would go back to the warp).

I'm trying to recall exactly where this is ruled (and whether it's from a prior edition), but it beats not being able to leave the warp, ever.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Toderas
Germany
Düsseldorf
Deutschland
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you all for the answers!

We didn't encounter Mobius Tubes yet though :D
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.