BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: Seeking Marble Component Recommendations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brandonn Richmond
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
I have an idea to use marbles as one of my game components. If you can imagine a flat disk with some sort of icon trapped in the center of a marble.

I've seen marbles like this before, but i cannot find a company that makes them. Of course, at this time all I've managed is a few Google searches, I'm very new at game development.

Any ideas or help would be greatly received.

Thanks-
Brandonn

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
  • [+]
  • 77518. Brandonn
  • 1d20 =
  • (18) =
  • Sat Jan 7, 2012 4:46 am
Sam Phillips Beckerman
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
do you mean cats eye marbles?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicholas Vitek
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps it would be more beneficial to use hardware washers or wooden discs until you find a set of rules for your game that work near perfectly?

Is there a reason they have to be marble at this exact point of development / design?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Pelikan
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I suppose the production of glass marbles involves temperatures that are beyond optimal for printed cardboard. Therefor you'd have to look for very durable inlays (most likely quite expensive) or low-temperature alternatives (resin?, no idea if that's too corrosive). Either way, I'd expect a rather high price tag.