Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Elder Sign» Forums » Rules

Subject: Errata, Timing on Midnight Effect? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joseph Saucedo
United States
Federal Way
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry just a little confused on when the effects of midnight take place. So at the end of of players turn they advance the clock. Do they then draw a mythos card if its midnight or does the next player start his turn by doing so?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul S
United Kingdom
Leeds
West Yorks
flag msg tools
DARK IN HERE, ISN'T IT?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"If the active player advances the Clock to XII (midnight) (or if he
advanced the Clock to midnight at any point during his turn), he
now resolves all game effects in play that say “At Midnight.” He
then draws a new Mythos card and resolves it
..."

Think that suggests it's the player who moved the clock to midnight - but am not sure it really matters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
DevilDawg90 wrote:
Sorry just a little confused on when the effects of midnight take place. So at the end of of players turn they advance the clock. Do they then draw a mythos card if its midnight or does the next player start his turn by doing so?

Plus, we have details in the official FAQ as well.
Quote:
Midnight

Midnight no longer occurs during a player’s turn. Instead,
it occurs immediately after any player’s turn in which the
clock hand moved to or past 12. Because midnight is not
part of a player’s turn, Kate Winthrop’s Science! ability
does not affect the appearance of monsters at midnight.

It might be easier to remember that Midnight doesn't happen during an Investigator's turn. While an active player may well draw and resolve the Mythos card, no Investigators are "active" during this time.

So, it shouldn't matter which player resolves the Mythos card.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.