Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Ventura» Forums » Rules

Subject: Assassination! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michele Lupo
Italy
Lecce
Puglia
flag msg tools
mb
A straightforward question. What happens to an Army's companies if the leader is assassinated with the appropriate event card or the player decides not to pay the commander's upkeep?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alberto Menoncin
Italy
tradate
VA
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Wolf88 wrote:
A straightforward question. What happens to an Army's companies if the leader is assassinated with the appropriate event card or the player decides not to pay the commander's upkeep?


Hi!
The remaining companies split as single companies (if you have enough slots; if not, you have to disband some of them)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Busch

Broomfield
Colorado
msg tools
mb
During a combat, do you split the companies immediately and if so, does that mean you will end up fighting a bunch of inidividual companies? If you don't split the comanies immediately, do you still get 5 VPs for defeating the Army that you played the "Plot" card against?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Rodrigues
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
space monkey mafia wrote:
During a combat, do you split the companies immediately and if so, does that mean you will end up fighting a bunch of inidividual companies?

That's the way I understand it, based off what is known in the rules and the designer's clarification above. Armies require a Captain a Fortune, so if the captain is removed, it would necessitate the companies must go it on their own. Otherwise, if the intent was to allow them to fight as an army without a captain, the Plot card would need explanation as to when the split should take place (particularly since this would also bring up the question of whether an invading captain-less army gets to place a Domain marker immediately or not should they win).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Carpenter
United States
Kirkland
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In my opinion, the card is already ridiculously good. I would let the opponent fight as an army, and only force the split after the battle (if they still have more than one company). After all, they were an army when the battle started. And the card is worse than Betrayal, because the leader is dead rather than just taking a break.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.