Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

BattleLore» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quick question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Beau No last name
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greetings,

I seem to be having a bit of a conflicting recollection on how to handle this situation: Do dice modifiers, something that would give a unit +dice to it's normal roll, apply when considering terrain?

Like, a unit off a hill can only attack with a max of 2d normally when attacking a unit on a hill. If I play a lore card, or use a command card that gives +dice, do those +dice apply? So a +1 dice card would allow a unit to attack with 3 dice going into a hill.

Or does terrain just plain out cancel everything?

Make sense?

Thanks!

- Raider30
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Wheal
United States
Kosse
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quick answer.



Unit base dice.

then

Terrain mods

then

Lore / others.


So, Blue unit, 3 dice, into woods, = 2 dice, with enchanted swords (+1dice) = 3 dice.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Raider30 wrote:
Greetings,

I seem to be having a bit of a conflicting recollection on how to handle this situation: Do dice modifiers, something that would give a unit +dice to it's normal roll, apply when considering terrain?

Like, a unit off a hill can only attack with a max of 2d normally when attacking a unit on a hill. If I play a lore card, or use a command card that gives +dice, do those +dice apply? So a +1 dice card would allow a unit to attack with 3 dice going into a hill.

Or does terrain just plain out cancel everything?

Make sense?

Thanks!

- Raider30

Terrain applies first. Then card modifiers. So in your example, they would roll 3.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Wheal
United States
Kosse
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Red unit.. into woods, with +1 as above..

4 dice.. down to 2 dice... plus one = 3 dice
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cavaliere
United States
Littleton
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I posted this in another thread here - here it is so you don't have to go hunting


1. Unit dice (including weapon)
2. Terrain modifiers
3. Tactic card modifiers
4. Lore card modifiers

So in other words,

1. Take the unit's # of dice it uses without restrictions
2. Use terrain modifiers (ie. 2d in/out of forest)
3. Add tactic card modifiers (ie. +1d for Leadership)
4. Add Lore card modifiers (ie. +1d for Mass Might)

For example with all of the above in play, it would make a full strength Clan Chief in a forest still battle with 4d:

1. 4d
2. 2d (out of forest)
3. 3d (+1 for Leadership)
4. 4d (+1 for Mass Might)

Tactic cards & Lore cards do not have to go in that order but come after the terrain modifier either way.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Beau No last name
United States
Omaha
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great!

Thanks for the quick answers.

- Raider30
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.