Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Magical Athlete» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question regarding Philosopher rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
"Federer is Betterer"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the case of a character using their power and the Philosopher cancels that power ... do they move forward one in compensation and then still roll the dice to move because their power was cancelled?

Say in the case of the Amazon that would normally use their power to move forward 5. If the Philosopher cancelled their power, should they then move forward 1 and then roll the dice to move because their power was cancelled ... therefore the dice roll is their only option?

How would you interpret the Phisophers power? Thanks in advance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marshall Pyle
United States
Boerne
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Funny you asked this because we just encountered this same exact situation tonight. We came to the conclusion that if the Amazon were to decide to move 5, then the Philosopher could cancel and then the Amazon moves 1 instead. Therefore the Amazon basically decided not to use her special ability and roll every turn. Hopes this helps but it's definitely nothing official.

Marshall
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Lott
United States
Mason
Michigan
flag msg tools
Being a Lions fan is a gift...
badge
...and a curse.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They still get to roll. The philosopher is basically saying "no, you can't use your ability," but he can't take away their turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
"Federer is Betterer"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK .. but the question really is ... Do you get to move your character one space and then roll the die? .... or not move one space and then roll the die.

Seems to me the character should just roll the die instead of using their power because if they use their power their turn would be reduced to a move of one.

How about the developer of the game ... do they have an opinion on how this works? ( I used the Amazon as an example earlier ... how about you do the same in terms of the official rules/interpretation)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
cee marcus
Bolivia
La Paz
La Paz
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it depends on the ability, some are used instead of rolling, and some aren't so in the case they can both use the ability and roll, they would be able to do both even when the philosopher negates, by the way how do you guys manage the philosopher, do you let him cancel every time? x times, once per round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.