Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newbie question: Can you take a major improvement card but use it later rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marshal Grouchy
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
We played our first game of Agricola yesterday, family version, and a rules question came up. Can you take a major improvement card for an action even though you don't have the resoursec and keep it and play it later when you have the resources to pay for it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
david landes
United States
oak hill
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NO! You can't even take the major/minor space unless you CAN and DO pay for a major or minor improvement.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, all actions in Agricola are instant. At the time you place your family member on the space that gives you the major improvement, you have to pay for the improvement and put it into play straight away.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Flynn
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, if you can't pay for it when you take the "Major Improvement" action, then you cannot take the improvement. It must be paid for immediately. If you can't afford any improvements at all, then you just won't get one.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marshal Grouchy
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Thanks all for the prompt answers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Burkman
United States
Kettering
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Peekaboo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MarshalGrouchy wrote:
Thanks all for the prompt answers!


And as a helpful bonus, they all agreed!
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.