Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another Diplomatic Relations Question came up... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Volker S.
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
...we had a strange situation in a game yesterday where after some fights in the round before I still had an interceptor in an enemy sector which got pinned by a build action.

By the end of the round we both had problems of our own on other frontiers therefore this sector was not so important anymore. Anyways we both had a pinned intersector in this sector.

We were wondering if we could have started diplomatic relations. Nobody of us was the traitor, we had adjacent hexes controlled and nobody would have done a new attack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Richardson

Pennsylvania
msg tools
mbmb
Diplomatic relations can't be done between 2 players if they have any combat between them pending. Multiple player ships in one hex must enter combat during combat phase, with all possible outcomes leading to only one faction of ship in any given sector at the end of the combat phase (either through destruction or retreat of all but one faction.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Chuckle
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
VolkoV wrote:
...we had a strange situation in a game yesterday where after some fights in the round before I still had an interceptor in an enemy sector which got pinned by a build action.

By the end of the round we both had problems of our own on other frontiers therefore this sector was not so important anymore. Anyways we both had a pinned intersector in this sector.

We were wondering if we could have started diplomatic relations. Nobody of us was the traitor, we had adjacent hexes controlled and nobody would have done a new attack.


The short answer: No, you cannot have diplomatic relations.

The reason: You cannot have diplomatic relations if your ships are going into combat with each other. Also, you cannot go into diplomatic relations if any of your ships are invading their influence controlled hex's. This also includes your ships being in his hex's for any reason. Um.. We have a few armed bombers... Do you think Russia will let us fly them over Moscow? We have a non-aggression pact.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wim van Gruisen
Netherlands
Den Bosch
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
Not sure of the question here. Do you want to know if you can engage in diplomacy with your opponent before the combat is resolved? I'd say no.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Sorbello
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
VolkoV wrote:
...we had a strange situation in a game yesterday where after some fights in the round before I still had an interceptor in an enemy sector which got pinned by a build action.

By the end of the round we both had problems of our own on other frontiers therefore this sector was not so important anymore. Anyways we both had a pinned intersector in this sector.

We were wondering if we could have started diplomatic relations. Nobody of us was the traitor, we had adjacent hexes controlled and nobody would have done a new attack.


Just wait after combat and then become allies. You can always do it at the end of the combat round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Kamber
Denmark
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lexen wrote:
Just wait after combat and then become allies. You can always do it at the end of the combat round.


That depends. A strict reading of the rules would suggest otherwise (see this thread: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/747305/exchange-ambassadors-... ), but the intention of the rules appears to be unclear.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Chuckle
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
lexen wrote:
Just wait after combat and then become allies. You can always do it at the end of the combat round.


Yup, you can do that assuming you are not violating any of the requirements to take the "traitor" card afterwards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Antti Autio
Finland
Helsinki
flag msg tools
badge
Gina, Escher gang leader (Necromunda). Don't mess with her or she'll kick your ass.. actually, she's gonna do it anyway!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dulkal wrote:
lexen wrote:
Just wait after combat and then become allies. You can always do it at the end of the combat round.


That depends. A strict reading of the rules would suggest otherwise (see this thread: http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/747305/exchange-ambassadors-... ), but the intention of the rules appears to be unclear.

The intention is that you may form them at any time a first connection is created, or at a later time during either player's turn as long as a connection exists (and there is no pending combat and neither holds the Traitor card).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volker S.
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So I understood that directly after the combat is resolved, we can go into diplomatice relations?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Chuckle
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
VolkoV wrote:
So I understood that directly after the combat is resolved, we can go into diplomatice relations?

Yes, assuming you don't qualify for the traitor card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.