GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,374 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Where There Is Discord: War in the South Atlantic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Naval gunfire support Bonus rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hey there folks!

When conducting a ground combat, when exactly is one eligible for the Gunfire support bonus?

Checking around the rulebook,two possible contradictory requirements seem to be in place.

- Either the warship providing the support has to be in the sea area directly adjacent to the combat (when fighting in Poker Point, the ship would have to be stationed on 9).

- Or the warship has to be on the opposite water square (same example, on 10)

Any ideas?
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Sykes
Ghana
Accra
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The ship needs to be in the space immediately adjacent, so in your example, would have to be in space 9. This of course means that you can't get naval gunfire support on the day that you land those troops because the landing craft will take up the adjacent space. But once they're landed, you can get warships in place to give them support. Take a look at the rules on p23, number 3 and then particularly the example immediately below it.

Happy hunting...
9 
 Thumb up
0.07
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oops. Couldn't be any clearer Thanks for such a quick reply!
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.