Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Formosan Resolution played after the China Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Situation :

USSR plays the China Card on turn one.
USA plays the China Card on second turn.

Can the USA player use the Formosan Resolution card for the event on turn three ?

Event says :
This card is discarded after US play of The China Card.

Could either mean the event, once triggered will be cancelled after US play the China Card.

OR

Card is discarded WHENEVER the US plays the China card. Meaning it cannot be played at all and should be removed from play even if it was never used.

Which one is it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul M
United States
Elkhart
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Formosan does not check to see if the US has ever played the China Card.

Formosan only checks for USA play of the China Card AFTER Formosan event has been implemented.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Proudly annoying Capitalists since 1959
Cuba
Santa Clara
flag msg tools
badge
Heaven has no rage like love to hatred turned, Nor hell a fury like a woman scorned
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The China card only says "cancels Formosan Resolution after play of the china-card by the US-player".

Therefore it does not prevent the play of Formosan resolution.
Just check cards like "evil Empire", where it cancels/prevents Willy brandt.

Cheers, Haring
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Smith
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
At the time the China Card was played there was no Formosan Resolution to cancel, it had not happened. As said, the occurrence of the cancellation can't happen until the China Card is played some time after the Formosan Resolution card is played. If it were otherwise the China Card would show an ongoing effect (red underline) which it does not.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks to everyone for the answer.
I never thought of looking at the China Card itself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.