Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek: Fleet Captains» Forums » Rules

Subject: Those damn friendly aliens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Encounter is one where the location gets an outpost and a mission card.

Whoever controls the location may claim the mission card as VP when they complete it.

The mission : make 3 scans.

Federation exerts influence. A scan is made.

Klingons show up. Blow the Federation away. Remove Fed control and institute Klingon.

Feds are pissed. Take the location back.

How many scans does the Federation need to make? 2 or 3? Was the 'counter' reset when the turtleheads took control?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's a tough one. I'd say 2, as the mission doesn't require all 3 to be done in a single turn, and the Federation was "in control" of the mission card when the first scan was made.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The problem is technically, the Feds didn't even have that mission card for a round.

When you get a new card that isn't conditional, you can't claim pre-existing actions.

Is it new? Do the aliens remember you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Fitzgerald
United States
Mazomanie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Oh yeah, you guys? You were the ones that let the Klingons walk in here and take over..."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Dunford
Canada
Kemptville
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For practical purposes, it's a race to fulfill the mission requirements AND have control of the outpost (and mission card). Some missions can be easily fulfilled in one turn, while this particular one is usually fulfilled over 2 or more turns. Requiring that the mission be completed without losing control of the outpost/card isn't stated on the encounter card, and might make it too difficult to achieve in some cases. For example, in other cases (e.g. most conditional Influence missions), it can be automatic as soon as the first influence token is placed at the outpost. In that case, if you haven't completed the requirements but your opponent has, it becomes a game of "keep away"... until you can complete it, of course.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.