Figo 3434
msg tools
Quest Stage 3, To the Elvin King's Halls, reads: "The player guarding Gollum cannot play cards from his hand."
Does this include DISCARDING?
Especially interesting when comparing negative cards like "Wasted Provisions" (discard top 10 cards from deck) to positive ones like "Protector of Lorien" (discard x cards to gain x will power).

[EDIT: added the last sentence]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Ramundi
Canada
Cornwall
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would imagine that it does not. You could still discard cards as per a character/item's ability, such as Protector of Lorien. These cards aren't being played, they are being "paid" as a cost to activiate an ability, etc..
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Morris
Scotland
Harrogate
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Join the BGG Folding @Home Team !!
badge
This user had more :gg: than sense
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And if we get picky about the wording (not always sensible with these rules) I would point out that cards in hand and in the discard pile are not in play. "PLAY" in the quest card seems to imply 'move from out of play to in play'. So I'm pretty sure that Jonathan is correct.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.