Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Pursuit of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Massed Cavalry's Desert Cancelling rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Slizewski
United States
Aiken
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As currently written, Massed Cavalry can cancel desert effects in the space being attacked.

I assume this doesn't cancel the shift for desert if the attacker is in the desert as well (as this unit will be nearly every time it is attacking a desert space) but thought I'd check.

As is, it seems rather targeted at busting through entrenched Beersheba than anything else.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it cancels Desert affects for the whole combat, whatever space is desert (or even if both are). Probably worded poorly there.

Yes it is used to bust beersheba, historically speaking, although there is limited scope for use in Mesopotamia or even Arabistan.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Slizewski
United States
Aiken
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would this apply if multiple spaces were involved in the attack? i.e. Beersheba and El Arish vs. Gaza with the Desert Corps in Beersheba.

So an entrenched Gaza attacked in this manner would only be one left shift since the trench and attacking from desert are cancelled by Massed Cav. Yes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Two left shifts - Gaza is mountainous terrain.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, however many desert spaces are involved the effect is cancelled.

turbothy wrote:
Two left shifts - Gaza is mountainous terrain.


But Massed Cavalry Charge cancels Desert and Trench effects, so only the left shift for Mountains would be left, which is one left shift. But of course that means the defender can hold, which makes the 3 space advance part of the card useless.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristian Thy
Denmark
Taastrup
flag msg tools
Together, we are the United Nations
badge
Gunulfr ok Øgotr ok Aslakr ok Rolfr resþu sten þænsi æftir Ful, felaga sin, ær warþ ... døþr, þa kunungar barþusk.
Avatar
mb
Duh, right. Misread Tom's post and didn't check the card text.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.