Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Sentinels of the Multiverse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Visionary v. Omnitron question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Powell
Ukraine
Berdyansk
flag msg tools
badge
I'm in my prime.
Avatar
mb
If Visionary plays Wrest the Mind against Omitron's Electro-Pulse Explosive, what happens?

Omitron's Electro-Pulse Explosive is set to 14 hp damage to our 4 heroes. Can I use the Wrest the Mind card to redirect that damage to Omitron 4 times?

Thanks in advance for your help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kayati
United States
Worthington
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's the way I've played it.

I don't have the cards handy, but as I recall each time the damage is redirected, Visionary and the source of the damage take damage from Wrest the Mind. So, each time Wrest the Mind is used, Visionary takes a hit and Electro-Pulse Explosive take damage, which lowers the damage it that would be dealt my Wrest the Mind.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Powell
Ukraine
Berdyansk
flag msg tools
badge
I'm in my prime.
Avatar
mb
jkayati wrote:
That's the way I've played it.

I don't have the cards handy, but as I recall each time the damage is redirected, Visionary and the source of the damage take damage from Wrest the Mind. So, each time Wrest the Mind is used, Visionary takes a hit and Electro-Pulse Explosive take damage, which lowers the damage it that would be dealt my Wrest the Mind.


Ah, I played it 4 times doing the max damage, instead of decreasing it each time. I think you might be right. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Further noteworthy: Wrest the Mind has been errata'd and no longer works on Villains.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Powell
Ukraine
Berdyansk
flag msg tools
badge
I'm in my prime.
Avatar
mb
Jlerpy wrote:
Further noteworthy: Wrest the Mind has been errata'd and no longer works on Villains.


The card says "Play this card next to a target other than a Hero or Villian character card. Whenever that target deals damage, you may redirect that damage to another target. . ."

So I can't play Wrest the Mind on Omnitron, but I can play it on the Electro-Pulse Explosive and redirect that damage onto Omnitron. Correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Imp Rovius
United States
Fairport
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't recall if Electro-Pulse Explosive is a target or one of the cards which makes Omnitron deal damage. If the former, then yes. If the latter, then no.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Rodriguez
United States
Tomball
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jlerpy wrote:
I can't recall if Electro-Pulse Explosive is a target or one of the cards which makes Omnitron deal damage. If the former, then yes. If the latter, then no.


It's a target.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Graham
United States
College Station
Texas
flag msg tools
I am Broccoli, most intelligent vegetable!
badge
I will destroy you all!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
foxtrot2620 wrote:
Jlerpy wrote:
I can't recall if Electro-Pulse Explosive is a target or one of the cards which makes Omnitron deal damage. If the former, then yes. If the latter, then no.


It's a target.

Right, but does the card say "Omnitron deals damage..." or Electro-Pulse Explosive deals damage"? If the card makes Omnitron deal damage, then it won't work.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Sharwarko
United States
Camp Hill
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The errata to the card Wrest of Mind states that the Villian Character card cannot be a target for it. The Electro-Pulse Explosive is not a character card therefore can be targeted by Wrest of Mind.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Graham
United States
College Station
Texas
flag msg tools
I am Broccoli, most intelligent vegetable!
badge
I will destroy you all!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zinger17011 wrote:
The errata to the card Wrest of Mind states that the Villian Character card cannot be a target for it. The Electro-Pulse Explosive is not a character card therefore can be targeted by Wrest of Mind.

I wasn't arguing the ability to target the card, I was referring to it's effectiveness. As Ben pointed out, there are several cards that make Omnitron deal damage, rather than dealing damage themselves. I didn't have my cards in front of me, so I wasn't sure which kind of card Electro-Pulse Explosive is. I've now looked, and it says "this card" when referring to the damage dealt, so it totally works. Have a ball
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ingersoll
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ukraineboo wrote:
jkayati wrote:
That's the way I've played it.

I don't have the cards handy, but as I recall each time the damage is redirected, Visionary and the source of the damage take damage from Wrest the Mind. So, each time Wrest the Mind is used, Visionary takes a hit and Electro-Pulse Explosive take damage, which lowers the damage it that would be dealt my Wrest the Mind.


Ah, I played it 4 times doing the max damage, instead of decreasing it each time. I think you might be right. Thanks!


Either situation could be possible, depending on how dealing damage to multiple targets simultaneously actually works...

Had this situation come up this week in a 5-player game. That would have almost instantly killed Omnitron if Visionary got to redirect a full blast five times...

EDIT: Ok, the FAQ says that they're basically individual events, so the redirection (and WtM damage) would happen between each. Good to know.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Imp Rovius
United States
Fairport
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Vyolynce wrote:
Either situation could be possible, depending on how dealing damage to multiple targets simultaneously actually works...


A good rule of thumb with this game is that there is no such thing as "simultaneous" damage. Each instance is always handled separately and in order.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.