Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Simple questions from a newbee.... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Bennett
United States
West Bloomfield
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The OL used Dark Charm on one of my characters and declared that the attack would be directed at that same character. Can that character tap a shield to absorb that damage or does the OL have "control" of the character at that time? (this is assuming that the shield isn't tapped already and that the shield is appropriate for the type of weapon used and all that)
Thank you for any thoughts on the matter.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Reubzaet
Netherlands
Landgraaf
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I do not have the exact reference to the rules or FAQs where this answer comes from originally, but it can be found on the very reliable (and source providing) website Descent in the Dark, here:
http://www.descentinthedark.com/_d_/dark_charm.php

Namely:
Quote:
The overlord controls the hero for that attack, including the hero's use of surges and power dice. The overlord may also play cards such as "Aim" with the attack. However, the overlord player cannot move the character, or force the hero to spend fatigue to add to the attack. The overlord may not force the character to use any orders. The hero retains control of any of her defensive options such as shields or Ghost Armor.


So, yes, the hero may still use his/her shield in the situation you describe.

Have fun! :-)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Bennett
United States
West Bloomfield
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much for the clear and consice answer, plus the link to the reference, that is a very useful website!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.