Subject: Starting an after school gaming club rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gérard Kraus
Luxembourg
Kayl
Luxemburg
flag msg tools
Sci-Fan: Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Radio (Radio ARA)
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm an English language teacher in Luxembourg, and I'm about to start a gaming club at a loval high school.
The school caters for 12-19 year olds, but I expect the oldest student members to be no older than 17.

My idea is to cover some game concepts, obviously play them, and talk about them. Doing this according to the techniques used in the games seems to be the thing that springs out to me at the moment.
I thought of using Forbidden Island as a starter to show the difference to some of the 'classic' games that the kids might already know. Subsequently looking at the big guns, like Catan, Dominion, etc.

I'd be thankful for any comments, ideas or hints.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jakob Bavnshøj
Denmark
Brøndum
DK-9500 Hobro
flag msg tools
designer
NOW
badge
Visit us at www.osterskov.dk
mbmbmbmbmb
Great idea!

When introducing young non-gamers to real games we often uses Ticket to Ride. Low complexity, high re-playability, easy concept, etc...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Welch
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello Gérard - I wish you all the luck getting your game club together. I'm a high school history teacher in California and have used games with my students. I designed a game on the French Revolution called Levée en Masse which now has a French version in addition to the original in English. If you go to the game page here on BGG, you'll see lots of pictures of my students playing it. Just a thought if you were planning to use games to teach a little history.

Again, all the best with your game club!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
badge