Subject: Mayday vs FFg vs KMC rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris L
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Howdy All,

I'm just getting into boardgaming and was lucky enough to pick up a copy of Mage Knight. I want to get sleeves for all my cards but I'm not sure which brand to go with. The size I need is the 63.5 MM by 88 MM

I did some searching and it looks like Mayday has been having quality control issues so I'm thinking I should stay away from them.

FFG sounds like decent quality with some stiff covers that make it easy to shuffle. Price is 2.50 for a 50 pack.

I haven't seen many reviews about KMC and they are more expensive as well as slightly larger (64 MM by 89MM). Price is 7.50 for a 100 pack.

Thoughts?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Mehlhoff
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I would go with FFG. I buy and love their sleeves.

Ever since Mayday has been doing "funny business" on BGG and having shady business practices I've stopped buying all of their products.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd
United States
Bridgewater
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
All glory to the Hypnotoad!
mbmbmbmbmb
You pretty much nailed the FFG vs Mayday argument. I've personally had 100% good experience with FFG sleeves, and 90% good with Mayday (one batch of bad Euro sleeves). At the end of the day it's a price check.

Never used KMC.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick
United States
Savage
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
I can't give you much info on KMC as I haven't used them, but you want the cards to fit snugly in the sleeves. I would think slightly bigger would be a bad thing.

Mayday sleeve sizes certainly vary within a pack and from pack to pack, but I've never had any major problems with that. The sleeves protect the cards and the cards fit well. FFG sleeves are definitely a higher quality sleeve.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Ralya
United States
Seattle