Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The New Era» Forums » Rules

Subject: Zero distance card play question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Oliver Graf
Germany
Koblenz
flag msg tools
designer
Help me! I got addicted to MtG again!
badge
Help me! I got addicted to MtG again!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How do I incorporate/destroy/negotiate with a zero distance card, such as Wire entanglement?

a) Just do it? (i.e. nothing to pay)
b) Do an incorporate/negotiate/destroy action via token or base card, but distance does not matter?

We always play it as b), but as I did read the 51st rules to see how to integrate the Essen Promo leader I became unsure about it...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom moughan
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
ahh....I love the smell of a stack of sketchily placed animals in the morning!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe it is b) as you state. The bulk of you question is answered on the bottom of pg. 12 of the rulebook.

Essentially for wire entanglement, you pay by discarding blue tokens with a total sum no less than the distance of the location THEN placed under any other card as a defense.

My interpretation of that is that a blue token must be played of at least 1 to play wire entanglement for its brown defense.

Someone may Destroy it to debris by playing a red 4 (action or token).

Wire Entanglement could also be: incorporated by spending an action/token of value 0 or higher (so 1 or higher), conquered by spending an action/token of value 0 or higher (so 1 or higher), redeveloped, etc

The action must always "occur" in some fashion. (pg 14-15)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Cunningham
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would think that anything with a distance of zero could be played from your hand without using any contact tokens at all. In effect, they're instant cards...but used with locations.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
b), so discard a token or play an action on the base card. It's in the rules, page 12:

Quote:
If a Player enters into an Agreement with a Defensive Location
(Locations with a brown field where the blue Agreement field
normally is) he pays the cost of the Cooperation Action (by
discarding Cooperation Contact tokens with a total sum no less
than the Distance of the Location) as normal. Then the Defensive
Location Card is placed under another Location Card
already belonging to that Player’s State so that the brown field
remains visible.
From this moment on the Location with the Defensive Location
attached has its Defense Distance increased by the number
on the brown field of the Defensive Location. This change only
applies in case of Conquest, not in the case of starting Cooperation
by another Player.
Note: It is not possible to initiate Cooperation with Defensive Locations
belonging to other Players.
Card” is put under Base.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PMD
Poland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you had to pay any token (so at least value of 1) than why it has distance of 0, not 1?

There is nothing which implies need of discarding at least one token. I read it like Leaders card in 51st State: distance 0 means free incorporation.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Finland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
emancypator wrote:
If you had to pay any token (so at least value of 1) than why it has distance of 0, not 1?

There is nothing which implies need of discarding at least one token. I read it like Leaders card in 51st State: distance 0 means free incorporation.

Ok. Another rule that is clearly in 51st state rulebook and not in the New Era rulebook. Another thing was the replacement of co-operation or conquest cards under base card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ignacy Trzewiczek
Poland
Gliwice
Slask
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You just put them into play. You don't need to spend contact token.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.