Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Pillars of the Earth» Forums » Rules

Subject: How resolve event: Parts of the cathedral collapse! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
WRS WRS
Poland
Ropczyce
Podkarpacie
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Situation:

1: I placed my builder on place 2. Archbishop's Office: Protection from events
2: Then we reveal the top event card => Parts of the cathedral collapse! All players lose a craftsman of their choice.

And what now?
1: Resolve the event immediately.
2: This is negative event so I may choose to be immune from it.
3: So I choose, regardless of the event card drawn, take a resource from the resource market.
4: Now the negative event affects me, so I lose a craftsman of their choice - that from Archbishop's Office

Is it correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Fischer
United States
Ellendale
North Dakota
flag msg tools
badge
The truth is always in the last place you look
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've wondered this myself. I like they way you spelled it out as you still get something for taking the 2 spot.

However, in the games I've played, when this comes up & just take the master builder off the board without taking a resource.

So the question is, what happens first.

The event or the resource grab?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Cochran
United States
Costa Mesa
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
You're misinterpreting the terminology.

The piece in the Archbishop's Office is called a "Master Builder". The cards in front of you that turn materials into VP's and/or money are called "Craftsmen".
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Werner Bär
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WRSZS wrote:
1: I placed my builder on place 2. Archbishop's Office: Protection from events
2: Then we reveal the top event card => Parts of the cathedral collapse! All players lose a craftsman of their choice.

You don't lose a master builder. You lose a craftsman. One of these guys (cards) that convert resources to points. And you lose him permanently (discard him).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Fischer
United States
Ellendale
North Dakota
flag msg tools
badge
The truth is always in the last place you look
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
WRS WRS
Poland
Ropczyce
Podkarpacie
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jsciv wrote:
You're misinterpreting the terminology.


Great thanks for answer! Yes, I wrote it without looking on game, just reading rules from files. Never again...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vaggelis Vernadakis
Greece
Sitia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone discard a craftsman that he had acquired from Siring's castle during the previous round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Owen
United States
Lorton
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vernad wrote:
Can someone discard a craftsman that he had acquired from Siring's castle during the previous round?


You don't acquire craftsmen from Shiring Castle; you acquire workers.

The "Parts of the Cathedral Collapse" event requires each player to discard a craftsman (card), not a worker (token).

Now, you do acquire craftsmen from "Shiring," so if that's what you meant, then yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vaggelis Vernadakis
Greece
Sitia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The problem was at the traslation of the game (I have a Greek version of the game). Thanks a lot for the clarification!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.