Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Strike of the Eagle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bluffing with order markers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Garyp
Australia
Berry
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
7.2 under Recon Area states that the Recon marker can be used to bluff - in the example - to "simulate a "Move To" order".

Can any other rrder markers likewise be used to bluff - I assume not as this would allow people to change their intentions and circumvent the tactics forced by the orders resulution sequence.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Abdullah Ibrahim and Ekaya - Sotho Blue
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to be able to execute an order when it is placed, and if it is still possible to execute it when revealed, you must do so. Technically speaking, you actually do use the Recon order at the appropriate time in the play sequence, so any bluff value is in the mind of your opponent. By the same logic, if he thinks you're placing a Withdraw when you are actually placing a Defend Area (or vice versa), you've bluffed successfully.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garyp
Australia
Berry
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Sphere - that all makes sense and seems within the intent of the rules.

Now if we can just get a definitive answer to the blocking along roads and rails issue we would be all good!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.