Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Carcassonne» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Carcassonne Cut Throat Edition - if meeples were giggles we'd all win! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicholas Patton
United States
Saratoga
California
flag msg tools
mb
I'm relatively new to boardgaming, but Carcassonne has quickly become one of my favorite games. It's actually one of the few games I had played before I started getting into this hobby in early December, so naturally it went into my collection as one of my first purchases. There are many games I still want to play (including unplayed ones in my own collection!), but every time someone offers up a game of Carcassonne I can't say no. This was the case when a person at the board game meetup I attended tonight busted out a copy of the game with The River and the Inns & Cathedrals expansion.

The five of us started placing the river tiles and discovered we had a player in our midst who had never played before, so I started explaining how the game worked to her. As we got into the meat of the game and she got into her first real pieces, this turned into light coaching on my part to explain to her the possibilities of where she could place a piece and why that might be advantageous. With several other vets at the table, they began to chime in with handy "advice" as well.