Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Friedrich» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fate card 10, diamonds rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lets assume the following: the card effect which was stated in the subject is active (Friedrichs first card in defense counts zero). Now, Friedrich is attacked. The army numbers are announced: Friedrich: 6 armies, the enemy 4 armies. The enemy plays a "2", tie. Friedrich MUST play a card now. He plays an appropriate card, which counts zero. Still a tie. Does the right to play cards switches to the enemy now, yes or no?

We think yes, because, the rules say, that you play one card after the other and, if a score becomes zero, the right to play cards switches. The question is now, if the notion, that a zero score becomes zero (again) counts as "new" score?

Btw, this card effect (number 10, diamonds), does it count also, when Friedrich is part of a stack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schwarz
United States
Tucker
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
Lets assume the following: the card effect which was stated in the subject is active (Friedrichs first card in defense counts zero). Now, Friedrich is attacked. The army numbers are announced: Friedrich: 6 armies, the enemy 4 armies. The enemy plays a "2", tie. Friedrich MUST play a card now. He plays an appropriate card, which counts zero. Still a tie. Does the right to play cards switches to the enemy now, yes or no?

We think yes, because, the rules say, that you play one card after the other and, if a score becomes zero, the right to play cards switches. The question is now, if the notion, that a zero score becomes zero (again) counts as "new" score?

Btw, this card effect (number 10, diamonds), does it count also, when Friedrich is part of a stack?


Makes sense to me. And looks like bad play from the Allies. The goal is to force cards out of Friedrich's hand, not your own.

Somewhere there's a ruling that Fates the affect a general affect the whole stack.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
richard sivel
Germany
berlin
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
I never had a situation like this, and never thought about it. So let's see what the rules say:

Quote:
If a score becomes zero or positive, the right to play TCs
switches to the other player. Now he is considered inferior,
and he may play a TC using the same procedure.

Austria play a 2, makes the score 0, and so it is Prussia's turn. Prussia is considered the inferior player.

Quote:
Next, the inferior player has the right to play a single TC
of his suit. He adds the TC value to the initial score. This results
in the current score which he states aloud.

Prussia plays a card, which has the value of 0 (due to the fatecard).

0+0=0

The rules state that this is the CURRENT score. So we go back to the first quote "If a score becomes zero or positive, the right to play TCs switches..."

Therefore it is Austria's turn now.

Suppose Austria has now no TCs of the suit in question: Then the combat would end as a tie.


Quote:
Btw, this card effect (number 10, diamonds), does it count also, when Friedrich is part of a stack?

Yes, of course.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.