Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Speicherstadt» Forums » Rules

Subject: First player question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh Edwards
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's an interesting question that we ran into on our first play - is the first player able to spend his "first player" coin when buying buildings? It looks exactly like the other coins, and is also received during the income phase. We figured that this might help balance out the seeming disadvantage of having to place first, but we also realized that it was just designed to be a pretty first player marker.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damien Seb. ●leoskyangel●
Malaysia
Bangsar & PJ
flag msg tools
badge
I play games not to win, it's the gathering that's important - Thanks for the tip Cate108!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the answer is no. It's purely to mark who the first player is.

The expansion on the other hand will replace all the coins in the original game, with 25 metal coins, which I believe is the same exact piece with the metal coin in the original game.

A start card will be given instead to mark the first player.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Edwards
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sounds like the expansion clarifies it nicely. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Taylor Nakamoto
United States
Montrose
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My copy of the English rules explicitly state the 1st player marker cannot be used to pay for a card.

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.