Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

Curious how much people are bidding in the initial round.

We played a 3 player game last night and one player opted not to bid at all and when we started the game, he put shares up for auction and got them for the minimun bid ($10) and they were fully funded and he promptly won the game.

I am wondering if we overbid on shares initially and thus why he was able to grab shares for $10 and still have a funded railroad.

I believe I had 2 shares and I used all my money (game starts with $50 with 4 players I think so I believe I bid $25 and $30 so I guess I had $5 left over)

Thx
jonpfl

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike B
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Haven't played it that much, so I'm not an expert, but so far with 3 bidding usually ends somewhere between 18 and 26, depending on players and the company that is auctioned.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Harrison
United States
Cleveland
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
www.gamesonthebrain.com
badge
www.gamesonthebrain.com
jonpfl wrote:
All,

We played a 3 player game last night and one player opted not to bid at all and when we started the game, he put shares up for auction and got them for the minimun bid ($10) and they were fully funded and he promptly won the game.

I am wondering if we overbid on shares initially and thus why he was able to grab shares for $10 and still have a funded railroad.

I believe I had 2 shares and I used all my money (game starts with $50 with 4 players I think so I believe I bid $25 and $30 so I guess I had $5 left over)

Thx
jonpfl

By "not bid at all", do you mean he didn't bid *at all* in the opening stock round? He literally passed on his first opportunity to bid on every stock?

And when you say, he put shares up for auction, do you mean he took the auction action during all three phases of the first round?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide