Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: mistake in german translation rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
stu ma
Germany
HD
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The english text says:

If you Explore
from a hex with only a Ship, it must not be "pinned" (see
Move on page 14).

It is translated as:
Falls du von einem Feld aus
erkundest, auf dem sich nur Schiffe von dir befinden, dürfen
sie nicht "festgehalten" werden (siehe Bewegung auf Seite 14).

In my oppinion it must say:

Falls du von einem Feld aus
erkundest, auf dem sich nur Schiffe von dir befinden, dürfen
sie nicht von gegnerischen Schiffen "festgehalten" sein (siehe Bewegung auf Seite 14).

This indicates that only ships that are not pinned my explore. In the current translation it is not clear what is meant. If you take out "von gegnerischen Schiffen" it would say:

Falls du von einem Feld aus
erkundest, auf dem sich nur Schiffe von dir befinden, dürfen
sie nicht "festgehalten" sein (siehe Bewegung auf Seite 14).

That would be the minimal formulation, but the first version is clearer.

What do other german mother tongues say?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eike Hanus
Germany
Büttelborn
flag msg tools
GAMES!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I also did not like the translation of this sentence. This is mainly due to the ability to misread it easily. You could interpret "nur Schiffe von dir" as "only ships that belong to you" instead of the original meaning that there is only a ship and not an influence disc on the hex.

Of course if there are only ships belonging to you on a hex they can not be pinned (if one counts the GCDS as a ship). But when learning the rules and not having reached the section on pinning this sentence can be highly irritating.

The sentence should clearly state that there is none of your influence discs on the hex and that you need an unpinned ship to explore from that hex.


Falls du von einem Hex aus erkundest, das keine Einflussscheibe von dir enthält, muss sich auf diesem eines deiner Schiffe befinden. Dieses darf nicht durch Gegner festgehalten sein. (Siehe Seite XY)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Büttner-Zimmermann
Germany
München
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Wiggle It!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spearhead wrote:
Falls du von einem Hex aus erkundest, das keine Einflussscheibe von dir enthält, muss sich auf diesem eines deiner Schiffe befinden. Dieses darf nicht durch Gegner festgehalten sein. (Siehe Seite XY)

thumbsup
Sehr viel besser!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert P
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's another problem with "pinning" ships in the German rulebook:

According to a thread here about pinning ships this works both ways, for attacking AND defending ships. This contradicts the German translation of the rulebook where it only applies when moving INTO a hex ("Wenn Schiffe AUF ein Sektorfeld bewegt werden, auf dem sich bereits Schiffe eines anderen Spielers oder Ältestenschiffe befinden, muss mindestens ein Schiff für jedes gegnerische Schiff anhalten") , suggesting that the defender may leave.


What is the correct rule?

Thanks!

PS: I put the question also in the official FAQ thread
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.