Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

StarCraft: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Splash Damage Rules Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fernando Moreno
msg tools
Hi, I´ve playing this game 2 years ago with a couple of friends, we understand triggering the splash damage (p.p 39 core rule book, and this link http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/369621/queenmutalisk-in-same...)

The problem is with the text in the core rules, p.p 40 :
"Resolving splash damage: splash damage is resolved during the "Resolve Splash Damage" step of the combat sequence. For each of a player´s splash damage card is triggered, his opponent is forced to choose and destroy one of the enemy units that survived the battle´s skirmishes. The attacker must choose and destroy units affected by splash damage first, followed by the defender."


The specific problem is in bold text, What really that means? Who destroy and what destroy? enemy units?, his own units?,

Thanks in advance for any help.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rafael Castrequini
Brazil
Valinhos
SP
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ferwyn wrote:
... his opponent is forced to choose and destroy one of the enemy units that survived the battle´s skirmishes. ..

The specific problem is in bold text, What really that means? Who destroy and what destroy? enemy units?, his own units?,

Thanks in advance for any help.


Let's say the "Player A" has a triggered splash damage card, so the opponent is the "Player B". In this case "Player B" will destroy his own units (among those which survived the skirmishes). The "player B" will destroy units as many as the number of splash damage triggered in whole battle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Love
United States
Clarkston
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have the rule book handy, but it sounds like your opponent destroys any units destroyed by the splash damage, even though the next line seems to contradict it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geert Vinaskov
Belgium
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep,

If your unit has the Splash Damage ability, and this unit succesfully kills the unit it is fighting, then the Splash Damage ability is triggered. For every Splash Damage ability triggered, your opponent must sacrifice one of his own surviving units. Your opponent chooses which unit to sacrifice.

the same is true vica-versa:

If the opponents unit has the Splash Damage ability, and this unit succesfully kills your unit, then the Splash Damage ability is triggered. For every Splash Damage ability triggered, you must sacrifice one of your own surviving units. You may chooses which unit to sacrifice.

FaydeShift wrote:
even though the next line seems to contradict it.
This line means: "in case both players must choose and sacrifice units because of triggered Splash Damage, the attacking player must do so first".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Smith
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
There is no contradiction is is just the FFG style of confusing a simple concept with bad wording.

The part 'for each' can mean one or the other player or both. The last part is only for when both need to choose.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.