Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Cory Yates
United States
Pekin
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, so I need some help choosing a few games. I have some ideas in mind of what I might be looking for but I am pretty new to the gaming world. I am at the point where I want to grow a little as a board gamer, but I don't want to purchase extremely heavy games at all because I just moved out of state with my wife and don't know anyone around. So basically I am going to mostly be playing with my wife. I know for a fact that she will not play extremely heavy games and it helps if a game is very teachable to her so she can pick it up relatively quickly, but she is willing to put SOME time into learning the basics of gameplay (a couple of games or so). She really is a very smart woman and has been able to put up a good challenge on many of the games we play.

Let me tell you what we have played and enjoyed so far (if there are no notes, then we both enjoy the game):

Last Night on Earth (I love it...she thinks its...meh)
Ticket to Ride
Colosseum (Haven't played with more than 2 people so I assume the game is much better with more players but so far its not our favorite for 2)
Hive
Jambo (we both love it)
Pandemic
Dominion
Survive: Escape from Atlantis
Carcassone

We also own both Stone Age and Puerto Rico, but I haven't broken those out yet because I want to wait until her brother and his wife come (they both love board games as much as I do).

Other games we own but haven't played: Forbidden Island and Lost Cities.

I have been looking into purchasing the following: Pandemic Expansion (I'm almost definitely going to get this), Race for the Galaxy, Railways of the World, a Dominion Expansion, Carson City, Power Grid, Flash Point Fire Rescue, Zooloretto (might be too childish?, and a few others.

What is important to us:
1. It HAS to be fun and not just complete work...so its nice to have some player interaction.