Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Prêt-à-Porter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ties (w. spokersman, sewing factory, newspaper office etc.) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Kazaniecki
Poland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a card says you win ties, is it still a tie? (As in, are you additionally rewarded if having the Spokesman, who gives you points for ties?)

Another question: if a card rewards you for winning (e.g. sewing factory, newspaper office), does it also work if you're tied for the first place?

(Both above combos would be very strong IMHO, Spokesman probably game-breaking.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Georgios P.
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It won't be easy. But it can be done.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think so. A tie that is resolved to create a winner is, by definition, not a tie anymore.

But if you do not resolve a tie, you tie for the next lowest place. So that would mean if you tie for first place, you are scored for second place, so you wouldn't get any bonus for reaching first place. And you wouldn't be considered "winning", since for that to happen the tie would have to resolve.

But the rules are really guite particular and unique with the many situations that arise, so I'm not 100% sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ignacy Trzewiczek
Poland
Gliwice
Slask
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you win a tie, it is not a tie anymore.
If you tie on 1st place, it is a tie, not win.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aram Schvey
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ignacy --

Thanks for the response, but I'm not sure I understand (and this issue came up in today's game when I had the spokesman and newspaper office). Could you clarify your answer, or give an example to explain what you mean?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Waltier
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
trzewik wrote:
If you win a tie, it is not a tie anymore.
If you tie on 1st place, it is a tie, not win.

If I could rephrase to make sure I understand it:

If you tie but have the ability to win a tie, you win instead of tying.
If you tie but do not have the ability to win a tie, you tie, and tying is never considered being in first place.

Is this accurate?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Kazaniecki
Poland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm pretty sure that's exactly what he meant!
Sounded clear to me whistle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Waltier
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Garf wrote:
I'm pretty sure that's exactly what he meant!
Sounded clear to me whistle

Me too. I'm clarifying for Aram (and for the record).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ignacy Trzewiczek
Poland
Gliwice
Slask
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.