Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shields and computers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mickey
Singapore
flag msg tools
Twilight struggling to find time to play
badge
Twilight struggling to find time to play
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Read in the updated version of the rules on the geek:
"Q:Are the Shields of any use if my opponents don't have
Computers?
A: No. Then again, if they don't have Computers, they most
likely won't hit you anyway. Use that to your advantage."

I don't really understand this statement. From the rules you add computers to your dice roll and subtract target's shields.
I don't read this as "add computers only of opponent has shields then subtract opponent's shields only if you have computers."

Can someone confirm if I get it right in the following examples ?

1. Roll 4 + 2 computers - 0 shields = 6 = hit
2. Roll 6 + 0 computers - 1 shield = 5 = miss
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott DeMers
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
6 = always a hit regardless of any modifiers
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Evans
United Kingdom
Solihull
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
No,a natural 6 is always a hit.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus
Finland
Helsinki
Uusimaa
flag msg tools
You don't need any more.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A 6 always hits. So if your opponent has no computers he will hit only on sixes, regardless whether you have shields or not.

Edit: Wow, double ninja'd!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mickey
Singapore
flag msg tools
Twilight struggling to find time to play
badge
Twilight struggling to find time to play
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Obviously .... thanks for your prompt answers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Brokaw
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
It's not a damn moped!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And a "1" is always a miss, regardless of the number of computers you add.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heishiro1976 wrote:
Can someone confirm if I get it right in the following examples ?
1. Roll 4 + 2 computers - 0 shields = 6 = hit
2. Roll 6 + 0 computers - 1 shield = 5 = miss


I'm not sure (this may be a language problem) but I think you may have misinterpreted the combat rules. The shields and computers don't change the total number of dice you roll, they modify the result you're looking for on the dice. So, if you roll 4 and have two computers and your target has no shields, you'll "hit" on a 4-6; if you roll 6 and have no computers and your target has 1 shield, you'll only hit on results of 6. In the latter case, it doesn't matter whether the target had any shield at all or not as you always "hit" on a roll of 6, regardless of shielding.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Davide Desana
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
- If you roll a 6, you hit, regardless of Computer and Shields
- If you roll a 1, you missed, regardless of Computer and Shields
- If you roll from 2 to 5, do the algebraic sum of the roll with Computers and Shields.

- Repeat for each dice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mickey
Singapore
flag msg tools
Twilight struggling to find time to play
badge
Twilight struggling to find time to play
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lancer4321 wrote:
Heishiro1976 wrote:
Can someone confirm if I get it right in the following examples ?
1. Roll 4 + 2 computers - 0 shields = 6 = hit
2. Roll 6 + 0 computers - 1 shield = 5 = miss


I'm not sure (this may be a language problem) but I think you may have misinterpreted the combat rules. The shields and computers don't change the total number of dice you roll, they modify the result you're looking for on the dice. So, if you roll 4 and have two computers and your target has no shields, you'll "hit" on a 4-6; if you roll 6 and have no computers and your target has 1 shield, you'll only hit on results of 6. In the latter case, it doesn't matter whether the target had any shield at all or not as you always "hit" on a roll of 6, regardless of shielding.


I got that.
I just could not get to my head that a roll of 6 is a definitive hit, whatever the number of shields on the other side.
Now I realize that this rule is useful to boost weaker fleets and give them a chance to hit even against heavily shielded units. As the 1 as a miss is a way to weaken stronger fleets and make them miss once in a while even if they have strong computing power.

We played wrongly the first time because of this overlook, and it really push players to turtle and avoid combats against stronger fleets.






 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.