Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

1830: Railways & Robber Barons» Forums » Rules

Subject: NYC floats, but tile A7 (57) is not available rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Indy Lagu
msg tools
Folks,

What happens in this case? Does the stock fall and fall until NYC can run a train and pay a dividend?

Is this what the third note in the sidebar on p 20 is referring to?

Never happened when I played...just curious.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Indy
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Burster of Bubbles, Destroyer of Dreams.
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
Just imagine the red offboard up here. I'll create it Real Soon Now...
badge
Yes, I know a proper 18XX tile should have a tile number.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the NYC is vulnerable to this.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
A standard risk, and one often deliberately crafted/setup either by the floating player in order to suitcase the capital, or his competition in order to deny revenue. This is one of the reasons that the NYC has the largest variance in 1830: it is either a god or a dog and is rarely in-between (and it is more often a dog than a god).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hanno Girke
Germany
Schwabenheim an der Selz
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The same can happen to the ERIE,as there are just two green OO tiles in the mix. And if the C&O builds to the NW OO...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Mathes
Germany
Essen
NRW
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, this may happen to the NYC - no activity on the map due to a lack of tile #57 and therefore a constant decline of stock price.

During the very first operating round of a standard 1830 there are only four places where tiles #57 can be laid. B&O can place one on J14 (Washington), PRR can place one on H10 (Pittsburgh), B&M can place on on F22 (Providence) and the NYC can place its home base on E19 (Albany).

None of the other three companies usually use the Delaware & Hudson private to establish an additional base on F16. Therefore a NYC that is launched during the first stock round hardly faces THIS problem. More often the NYC is blocked from operating by an unfriendly placed double-dot tile on hex F20 either by the NYNH or the B&M.

A NYC launched during the second stock round (or a later stock round) may actually have no tile #57 to place, but this can be seen beforehand at the end of the previous operation round and mostly happens to newbies unintentionally.

Ciao

Martin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Indy Lagu
msg tools
Folks,

Thanks for your thoughts on this.

Indy

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caleb Wynn
United States
Cartersville
Georgia
flag msg tools
I love Nintendo as well!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Say a corporation floats, and it (of course) has to wait to buy its first train at the end of its first OR. It goes down in stock value because it could not run this round?

Also, if a company can't do anything at some other point during the game, say because they do not have a train and need to buy one, they lose stock value for every OR in which they do nothing?

Essentially, ANY time you do not pay a dividend at the end of an OR, the stock value moves back? Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chester
United States
Temple
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sidewynnder wrote:
Say a corporation floats, and it (of course) has to wait to buy its first train at the end of its first OR. It goes down in stock value because it could not run this round?

Also, if a company can't do anything at some other point during the game, say because they do not have a train and need to buy one, they lose stock value for every OR in which they do nothing?

Essentially, ANY time you do not pay a dividend at the end of an OR, the stock value moves back? Correct?

Yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Caleb Wynn
United States
Cartersville
Georgia
flag msg tools
I love Nintendo as well!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cornjob wrote:
Sidewynnder wrote:
Say a corporation floats, and it (of course) has to wait to buy its first train at the end of its first OR. It goes down in stock value because it could not run this round?

Also, if a company can't do anything at some other point during the game, say because they do not have a train and need to buy one, they lose stock value for every OR in which they do nothing?

Essentially, ANY time you do not pay a dividend at the end of an OR, the stock value moves back? Correct?

Yes.


Cool. We were not doing that in our first two games.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.