Recommend
8 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Friday» Forums » Rules

Subject: Destroy special ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Krista Donnelly
United States
Beltsville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When I use the x1 destroy special ability, do I also have to pay the life point cost for the card destroyed?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James W
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I understand what you're asking, the answer is no. You flip the card that you want to destroy. It now has an Attack Strength equal to 0. At the end of the encounter, it is discarded out of the game.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Krista Donnelly
United States
Beltsville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's exactly what I was asking - thanks. I thought it worked that way, but I was afraid I was getting rid of the aging cards too easily.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James W
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No problem! =)

Glad I could help.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
oladola oladola
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
but ...
When should I pay the non free life point cost ?
When I get the new card or at the end of the battle ?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James W
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oladola wrote:
but ...
When should I pay the non free life point cost ?
When I get the new card or at the end of the battle ?


I think you are suggesting that you receive a replacement card when you Destroy a card. That is not true.

You simply flip the Destroyed card over. You do not get to replace it. At the end of the fight, it is removed from the game with no health penalty.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Eddy
United States
Coeur d'Alene
ID
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What if Destroy an Aged Card with "Stop"?

Can I then start drawing free cards again?

Please say yes! Or else I cheated bad just now whistle
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Er
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
eekamouse wrote:
What if Destroy an Aged Card with "Stop"?

Can I then start drawing free cards again?

Please say yes! Or else I cheated bad just now whistle


i understand it to be a yes.
thats how i play it as well. if its a no, that makes both of us cheaters.

but i think it makes sense cos the rulebook says:
"the abilities of the destroyed card are canceled for the actual fight, but the card counts as a fighting card of value 0"
"destroy the card after end of fight and remove from game"
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henning Kröpke
Germany
Ascheberg
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eekamouse wrote:
What if Destroy an Aged Card with "Stop"?

Can I then start drawing free cards again?

Please say yes! Or else I cheated bad just now whistle

If the stop was on the left side as one of the free cards (on the right side the stop has no meaning) the answer is: Yes, you can start drawing the remaining free cards, as the former "stop" is now a face down card with value 0 and no special action.

Have fun with Friday!

Henning
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Waterman
United States
Commerce Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I slightly disagree with the last poster. A "Stop" aging card. **usually** does not affect cards on the right. However, if you play a card with the special ability "+1 card", on the right, I believe "Stop" will still stop that from happening?

Montebanc
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henning Kröpke
Germany
Ascheberg
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
montebanc wrote:
I think I slightly disagree with the last poster. A "Stop" aging card. **usually** does not affect cards on the right. However, if you play a card with the special ability "+1 card", on the right, I believe "Stop" will still stop that from happening?

Montebanc

No, it does not.

As explained, the "stop" only has an effect on the left side, as long as you draw it before reaching the limit of free cards.

Best regards,

Henning
(game editor for 2F-Spiele)
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Waterman
United States
Commerce Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What is the difference between "free" cards on the left and ?free? cards made available by "+ *cards" special power cards? Do the cards from "+1/2 cards" special powers go on the right side? Shall we call them "bonus" cards and not "free cards"?

Montebanc
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Waterman
United States
Commerce Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Never mind I get it now (from your answer on the other thread.) .

After playing the initial "free cards" on the left side,

ALL other cards go on the right side (including those from "+ *cards" bonuses)

Thanks for clarifying it!

Montebanc

PS Really enjoying trying different strategies! Lots of exchanges vs. pure weapon strength, lots of + life cards, etc.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.