Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Talisman (Revised 4th Edition): The Dragon Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Talismans in the dragon tower rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roy Battiscombe
Wales
Cardiff
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

The dragon expansion rules says you can play with either side of the expansions replacement inner region, and to cover the original inner region.

The thing we noticed though is that the dragon tower side doesn't have anything that requires a talisman, so if your playing with that side, there doesn't seem to be any point in getting a talisman.

Does anyone know if I've missed something in the rulebook?

Currently we have been playing that you need the talisman to cross the portal of power. (Only when playing with the tower side)

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Tubb
United States
Fuquay Varina
NC
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think you are missing a rule, the Dragon Tower doesn't mention Talismans at all. Seems logical to house rule the Portal of Power or the Crown of Command to need a Talisman when using the tower side. Seems really weird to me, too.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eirik Johnsbråten
Norway
Notodden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you're right, although it's pretty silly to remove the need for a talisman in a game called Talisman... wow
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Anderson
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We play it with the tower board off to the side of the main board. When a player enters the crown space on the main board they move to the first space in the tower and continue from there.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roy Battiscombe
Wales
Cardiff
Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cyscott1 wrote:
We play it with the tower board off to the side of the main board. When a player enters the crown space on the main board they move to the first space in the tower and continue from there.


We wanted to play it this way too, but it seems a little weird doing it, since if you are able to get past the mines/crypt, you will probibly be able to just breeze through the tower. We are planning to play it that way this weekend though, to give it a try.

Thanks to everyone else for their responses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Anderson
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
PhoenixTheBlack09 wrote:
Cyscott1 wrote:
We play it with the tower board off to the side of the main board. When a player enters the crown space on the main board they move to the first space in the tower and continue from there.


We wanted to play it this way too, but it seems a little weird doing it, since if you are able to get past the mines/crypt, you will probibly be able to just breeze through the tower. We are planning to play it that way this weekend though, to give it a try.

Thanks to everyone else for their responses.



They may breeze through but if another player is close behind it may slow them enough to make an interesting race to the crown.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.