Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Band of Brothers: Screaming Eagles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Decoys/Concealed Units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew S. Fischer
United States
Devon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Say I have five squads, two of which are covered with decoy chits. It's my turn and my other three units are marked used. Am I now forced to use my concealed units? Or can I just "pass"? Can I "pass" now and use the two units later if I choose?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Janik-Jones
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Up Front fan, Cats were once worshipped as gods and they haven't forgotten this, Combat Commander series fan, The Raven King (game publisher) ... that's me!, Fields of Fire fan
badge
Slywester Janik, awarded the Krzyż Walecznych (Polish Cross of Valour), August 1944
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You must use at least the minimum number of units as required by your Operations level, yes. Mark them as Op Fire, perhaps?

(Scenario 14 is terrible for this as the Americans. There is no way at the end of using your units the Germans won't have free reign to move 6 or more units after you've marked all yours. Op Fire is the way to go with good covering arcs of fire.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew S. Fischer
United States
Devon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
That makes sense-- mark them as Op Fire!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
There is no way at the end of using your units the Germans won't have free reign to move 6 or more units after you've marked all yours.


The 'slow bicycle race' is a big part of BOB gameplay. It is the only tactic that will counter Op Firing Artillery, you make your opponent 'Use' his units until he has to fire his Artillery and then you can move units without being immediately zonked by a barrage with a -4 modifier.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew S. Fischer
United States
Devon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
What -4 modifier?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If a unit gets caught by artillery moving in the open...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Janik-Jones
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Up Front fan, Cats were once worshipped as gods and they haven't forgotten this, Combat Commander series fan, The Raven King (game publisher) ... that's me!, Fields of Fire fan
badge
Slywester Janik, awarded the Krzyż Walecznych (Polish Cross of Valour), August 1944
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
... very, very bad things happen, I can assure you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew S. Fischer
United States
Devon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Jim Krohn wrote:
If a unit gets caught by artillery moving in the open...


Doesn't an infantry unit stop moving at the end of its turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Smith
United States
Bel Air
MD - Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
asfhgwt wrote:
Jim Krohn wrote:
If a unit gets caught by artillery moving in the open...


Doesn't an infantry unit stop moving at the end of its turn?
Yes, but if it walks into an artillery hex (not a smart thing to do, granted) it takes fire as if moving
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.