Subject: Where to go from here rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Magician ..
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Im fairly new to board gaming and ive picked up a few games over the last couple of months

Game of thrones
Mansion Of Madness
Strike of the Eagle
Power Grid

I enjoyed all of these however Im looking to bulk out my collection a little bit more with a good entry war game and a good heavy economic game that has lots of interaction ideally 3-5 or 3-6 players and the ability block and sabotage the other players.

For the war game I was thinking about "Combat Commander: Europe" as the mechanics seem straight forward and has a relatively short play time, while ideally im looking for a pure luckless game im willing to over look the card mechanic in this as it is my first hex war game.

As for the economic game I have been thinking about "Imperial" but not quite sure if it fills the requirement of a good economic game as you seem to be only able to buy bonds which you cant sell, also have been looking at "Indonesia" which seems to have an interesting economic side with some good interaction but im not sure how much your actions influence how well other players do.

Sorry for the long winded post but any pointers will be gratefully received

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Nelson
United States
Draper
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Indoensia is a very good game, but it is not for everyone. It is heavily economic, but I feel it shines with the Mergers and Shipping phases. It takes 2 hours to play for veterans, so expect a good 3 hours for a first game. Every decision you make in this game will affect the game considerably.

Imperial is a stock game, very little war involved. Navegator has been getting praise, but I haven't played it to know what it is like.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Buz
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems like you're off to a good start!