Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reputation Tiles - how many can you get rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Bausman
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
The rules seem to say that you draw reputation tiles for each hex combat. If you had combat in three hexes you would draw and keep 3 tiles in one turn. This seems like a lot of VP's for combat. Does it make sense to draw at the end of the combat phase rather than at the end of each hex combat? That would limit a player to one tile per turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuckhazard
United States
Fayetteville
Arkansas
flag msg tools
I'm FREEeeee..ee..e..e...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Youn draw up to 5 tiles per hex. You can only keep 1 tile per hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Bausman
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Lets say I had three battles in 3 hexes. In the first one I destroy an interceptor, in the second one I destroy an interceptor and the third one I destroy a cruiser. I draw 2 tiles in the first battle (participation and one kill) and keep one tile, In the second I draw one tile for the kill and keep it. In the third one I draw 2 tiles for the kill and keep 1. That gives me 3 tiles in one turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuckhazard
United States
Fayetteville
Arkansas
flag msg tools
I'm FREEeeee..ee..e..e...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Almost. You get 1 participation draw per hex. So thats 2 draws, 2 draws, e draws. You keep 1 tile per draw, so yes 3 tiles in a turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jefferson Krogh
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, you can fill up your reputation area in one turn if you have enough combats in one turn. Since you can only keep 4 or so (depending on race), each turn you do that results in progressively smaller incremental VP gain while the loss of ships, actions, etc. will continue to be the same.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Bernardo
Taiwan
Taipei
flag msg tools
badge
CardboardEast.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does anyone else feel this cripples combat and rewards turtling?

Can I discard a reputation tile for an ambassador?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Rochelle
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
evilpanda wrote:
Does anyone else feel this cripples combat and rewards turtling?

Can I discard a reputation tile for an ambassador?
Wait, what? Keeping multiple combat tiles per turn penalizes combat? No.

But yes, you can discard a rep tile for an ambassador. You cannot discard an ambassador for a rep tile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James 3
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You'll rarely be in multiple fights in the same turn, and likely aren't winning all of them if you are. You could improve existing ones. Rep tiles are only one aspect of scoring and there is a cap and diminishing returns for gaining vp this way
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Julian
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
evilpanda wrote:
Does anyone else feel this cripples combat and rewards turtling?


Not me

evilpanda wrote:
Can I discard a reputation tile for an ambassador?


Yes.

But not an ambassador for a reputation tile.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.