Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Saul N
United States
Brooklyn
NY
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've never written a review before for boardgamegeek but I've read and benefited from plenty. So now I hope to return the favor in kind. I'm not going to give you the specifics on rules and mechanics (I think it's covered pretty well in other reviews) but more my overall impressions after playing it once....

Bootleggers!!! What a great game and what a surprising gem.
I had purchased the game several years ago but never played it until last night when I brought it over to my regular gaming group. Now our group has pretty varying tastes. Some folks enjoy the Euro games more. While I personally prefer the "Ameritrash" ones. But we all think theme is great for a game and for that Bootleggers delivers and delivers well.

I had read the rules and explained it to the group - didn't take that long but there was a bit of confusion since it is a process oriented game. We dove in and after the first few rounds everyone caught on quickly to the rules. And everyone agreed how much fun it was!!!

The rules weren't that "fiddly" - we of course had to check back and reference them every so often but most things were laid out fairly clearly and logically. And only once or twice we had to make logical "judgement" calls (which after double checking on these forums I found out had been played correctly.)

The game plays from 3-6 people. We played with 4 people. I think that's about the smallest size you'd want to play with. You want a busy game with lots of screwing over the other guy and lots of competition.  My guess is 5 or 6 is the sweet spot. But 4 was great!!!

I also suggest you play this game with a group of people who don't mind getting a bit into the 1920s gangster theme. And who know each other well enough to be able to connive and backstab each other while still having fun. While this isnt an integral part of the game it does add to it.