Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

U-Boat Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: U-Boat exiting the battle by Lag Movement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alessandro Trovato
Italy
Rome
ITALY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My lonely submerged U-Boat in Medium Range zone revealed a Speed 3 Merchant that made it exit the battle through the Wake Area at the first Lag Movement of the step. What's next?
Next U-Boat? Post-Combat phase? Should it suffer +1 stress even if no Combat occurred and lost contact with Convoy?

Alex
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul S
United Kingdom
Leeds
West Yorks
flag msg tools
DARK IN HERE, ISN'T IT?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Did you think about putting your U-boat in one of the medium range zones ahead of the Merchant? That way even with 2 lag moves backwards you would've had time to get off a shot, and more than one if you'd also moved forward a space.

I wouldn't inflict the stress in these circumstances. Submerged, you were undetectable absent any escorts, and in the way you played it you never even got close to it - it appeared on the horizon then powered away, so what's to stress about?

And yes, next Uboat OR next contact for this one, if you had rolled more than one contact.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Trovato
Italy
Rome
ITALY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Sounds reasonable, thank you. Anyway this case should be covered by rules I think.

I had initially placed the U-Boat on the weaker flank of the convoy (card #042). First game, I did not think at all at the consequences of a Speed 3 Merchant.

Alex
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul S
United Kingdom
Leeds
West Yorks
flag msg tools
DARK IN HERE, ISN'T IT?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've just looked at the Rules, and technically I think I was wrong re: stress. They say:

"Add one Stress Point to each surviving U-Boat that participated in the Combat Resolution Phase."

Since your movement was part of the Combat Resolution Phase, it seems you have to take the stress point, even if that seems tough in the circumstances. Thematically I suppose you could say that although in the event there was no fight, until the enemy was engaged it could have proven to be a heavily armed naval convoy - so the stress is caused (by anticipation) to the crew, not by physical damage to the ship.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Trovato
Italy
Rome
ITALY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree that that's the strict rule interpretation but I may have some doubt the rule took in consideration this "no engagement at all" case.

However, maybe it would be more realistic to have the option to surface once the ships are revealed (to gain extra speed).

Alex
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Wuthe
Germany
Pfungstadt-Eschollbrücken
Hessen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Beloch wrote:
Did you think about putting your U-boat in one of the medium range zones ahead of the Merchant?


Just to clarify: at the start of a combat you're only allowed to put your boat in a long range area of the tactical display. Except for infiltrator boats...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul S
United Kingdom
Leeds
West Yorks
flag msg tools
DARK IN HERE, ISN'T IT?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pac76 wrote:
Beloch wrote:
Did you think about putting your U-boat in one of the medium range zones ahead of the Merchant?


Just to clarify: at the start of a combat you're only allowed to put your boat in a long range area of the tactical display. Except for infiltrator boats...


Quite right - I was making the assumption that was what he was using.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Trovato
Italy
Rome
ITALY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

My U-Boat started in Long Range then moved 1 zone to Medium before the first Lag Movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Schueler
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
alextrov wrote:
My lonely submerged U-Boat in Medium Range zone revealed a Speed 3 Merchant that made it exit the battle through the Wake Area at the first Lag Movement of the step. What's next?
Next U-Boat? Post-Combat phase? Should it suffer +1 stress even if no Combat occurred and lost contact with Convoy?


Alex,

You should go to the Post-Combat Phase, just like after any other combat, and add the stress point.

You found one of the hazards of attacking from the stern of a fast target, it just out-runs you.

From a narrative point of view what happened is - "A target was sighted and the Captain decided to call the crew to Battle Stations and start chasing it (this is where the stress point comes from for the U-Boat). Unfortunately for for the U-Boat Commander, the target was a fast ships and his approach took the boat into the stern angle of the target, allowing it to escape."

Dave
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Trovato
Italy
Rome
ITALY
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Thank you Dave,

Alex
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.