Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Advanced Robotics rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Pinta
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
Does/Do the disc(s) you get for Advanced robotics and Quantum Grid last for just that turn or for the rest of the game? My friends think that it goes away, but it doesn't say in the rule book either way. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jefferson Krogh
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rest of the game.
6 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They would totally not be worth it for only one turn, you'd do better just trading your science for money in that case.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sdiberar wrote:
They would totally not be worth it for only one turn, you'd do better just trading your science for money in that case.

Especially Advanced Robotics, which only give you one; basically the only net gain you'd get from that is one extra tech that you essentially didn't have to spend a disc for (since you get the one you spent right back).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Crochet
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
A First or second turn advanced robotics can help you greatly over the course of the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ohai wrote:
A First or second turn advanced robotics can help you greatly over the course of the game.

Indeed. I was just referring to if it went away after the round...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Agent J
United States
Coldwater
Michigan
flag msg tools
He's looking real sharp in his 1940's fedora. He's got nerves of steel, an iron will, and several other metal-themed attributes. His fur is water tight and he's always up for a fight.
badge
He's a semi-aquatic egg-laying mammal of action. He's a furry little flat-foot who'll never flinch from a fray. He's got more than just mad skills, he's got a beaver tail and a bill.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do your plasma missiles only last one turn? Upgraded shields, computers, etc...?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Bigmore
England
Abingdon
Oxon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perhaps the confusion arises because the tiles in question are marked with the "instant one-time effect" icon, like the Artifact Key. But, just as you don't have to give back the resources acquired from that technology at the end of the turn, you don't gave to give back discs either.
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Pinta
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
Thanks everyone. I thought so. I wondered why that upgrade was even available if you only got it for 1 turn. It was the "instant use" star that threw us off. Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith
United States
Vienna
Virginia
flag msg tools
Brevity exceeds allocated space
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Advanced Robotics & Quantum Grid
I've never played the physical game and just started playing the iOS version yesterday. I'm so glad this thread is here!

Although with iOS it's very easy to see that the technology indeed works for the remainder of the game, I've been reading the rules and it didn't seem quite as clear as it ought.

Kobold Curry Chef wrote:
Rest of the game.
Bigland wrote:
Perhaps the confusion arises because the tiles in question are marked with the "instant one-time effect" icon, like the Artifact Key. But, just as you don't have to give back the resources acquired from that technology at the end of the turn, you don't gave to give back discs either.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eden Hansen
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CA I have more than 1 on my research board at a time or do I buy 1 then buy the additional 2 research tile?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris K.
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Eden73 wrote:
CA I have more than 1 on my research board at a time or do I buy 1 then buy the additional 2 research tile?


You can only ever buy each technology once. Hence you get Advanced Robotics for one extra disc and Quantum Grid for another 2 extra discs.

Luckily this fits quite nicely with the exact number of discs that ship with the game ;-)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.